output to videotape

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• output to videotape

I am a newbie to this video editing. Can someone help me with the following questions? Your valuable advise and assistance will be deeply appreciated.

I have a Marvel G400-TV video card installed in my Windows 98 PC (PIII 600MHz).

1.) How do I output anything (video clip or powerpoint presentation) in my computer monitor to a video tape? Do I need to run any software? Or after connect my VCR to the Marvel G400-TV box, when I press record button in my VCR, anything display in my monitor will get recorded to the VCR?

2.) How's the output quality in the video tape, as good as computer monitor? What is the best resolution to output to video tape (640x480)?

If you set up the display drivers to use Dualhead/DVDMax almost anything played in MediaPlayer will go to the vidout.

If you use Dualhead/Clone you can output the entire desktop to the vidout. Check your manual for details.

Dr. Mordrid

[This message has been edited by Dr Mordrid (edited 26 June 2000).]

Comment

Hi!

The output to the video tape will be as good as displayed on the monitor, but the tape itself will lose you a packet. A super VHS tape will hardly resolve better than about 300 horizontal equivalent lines (nor will a consumer TV, for that matter). The higher the input resolution, the better the results, even when the tape cannot resolve more. For ex., if you use the bizarre 320 x 480 format, the end result will be marginally poorer than 640 x 480, but, visually, you may have a hard job to see the difference from the tape. If you have difficulty with disk space, you may prefer this format. (I haven't tried this as I use PAL with 704 and 352 HR).

------------------
      Brian (the terrible)

Brian (the devil incarnate)

Comment