Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone here have/had a dog with Systemic Lupus?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone here have/had a dog with Systemic Lupus?

Just wondering. Kiska dropped from 57lbs (26kilos) to 40 (18) in two weeks. He has Discoid Lupus, as you can tell by his nose in the pics, but now the tests say Systemic as well. We get the Cortico roid treatment now. Hopefully he'll improve, but in a very short time we've gone from "psycho-spaz" to not being able to climb stairs or stand without shaking due to muscle waste.

Anyone here have any experience? Should I relax a little about him or start stressing more?
    Attached Files
    Yes I drive a 13yr old Volkswagen; Yes I'm a dirt poor college student; Yes every tank of gas is more $$ than the value of my car, but it is FUN to drive, so I don't care about your ego or how much your car cost, if you insist on going the exact same speed in the passing lane as the car next to you for 10 minutes, stop being a self righteous ass, move the hell over and just let me by!!!

I have a friend with Lupus, and I understand its where the immnume system starts to attack the lining of the heart. From what he told me they had him on steroids for a period of time to help out with the syptoms back a couple years ago, but since I've known him he hasn't had any problems with it. Not sure if its same in canines or not. Nice looking dog BTW
    Why is it called tourist season, if we can't shoot at them?

Comment

What a beautiful dog!
      Titanium is the new bling!
      (you heard from me first!)

Comment

I've seen SLE (systemic lupus erathematosis) in a few people, but never in animals...
        The Welsh support two teams when it comes to rugby. Wales of course, and anyone else playing England

Comment

Originally posted by Paddy [MU]
          I've seen SLE (systemic lupus erathematosis) in a few people, but never in animals...
          hmm, aren't people animals?