Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stereo system

Hey guys,

After working over the summer and earning a decent amount of money, I've decided to get a stereo system of my own This is gonna be a strictly two-channel music system. I'm planning to spend about $1200 on a pair of speakers, CD player and stereo receiver/integrated amp. It's gonna go into my room, so I can't get anything more than bookshelf speakers. Here's a drawing of my room so that you guys can get an idea of the space I have to work with: http://users.megapathdsl.net/~liquidsnake00/room.gif

I know the current arrangement isn't too great, but the old, useless desk is going to be thrown out, so I'll have more room to work with.

Here's what I came up with:
    B&W DM602 ($600?)
    Sony SCD-C222ES ($305)
    Yamaha RX-596 ($310)

I haven't listened to these yet, but these are the components I'm considering. Any suggestions on other components I should consider?

Hi Liquid Snake,
    I'm no expert, like a few of the murc's here that know what they are talking about and will chime in soon enough, but I posted for some advice for a home theater setup a couple of weeks ago. All I want to say is have fun at the stores when you go shopping. Bring a few of your favourite cd's and listen to them now so you can get a feel for them before you use them to audition new equipment. I already picked up a NAD Audio/Video receiver (T742) by luck. It was a little more than I wanted to spend but he quoted an excellent price. The sales guy was awesome, very friendly, very knowledgable and pleasent. I talked it over with a friend of mine and he kept repeating that I would not be disappointed with the NAD, and I think it was Mutz who also liked the NAD as a better product. So I went back to the store with my cd's. He hooked up a high end pair of Paradigm speakers and we flip flopped between the NAD and a DENON AVR1603. The NAD blew away the Denon with my first cd (Mary J Blige), then he hooked it up to a Ho